ISSN  0011-3891
CURRENT SCIENCE ASSOCIATION
Current Science
A Fortnightly Journal of Research
 
 

Guest Editorial

Aircraft emissions and the environment
S. K. Satheesh

The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) reports have shown that global warming is due to increase in greenhouse gases (GHGs). Several studies have linked...

...read more

 

Chief Editor

S. K. Satheesh, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
satheesh@ias.ac.in


Section Editors

E. Arunan, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
arunan@iisc.ac.in - (Chemistry)

Sandeep M. Eswarappa, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
sandeep@iisc.ac.in - (Medical Sciences)

K. N. Ganeshaiah, University of Agricultural Sciences, GKVK, Bengaluru
knganeshaiah@gmail.com (Plant Sciences)

Gaiti Hasan, National Centre for Biological Sciences, Bengaluru
gaiti@ncbs.res.in - (Animal Sciences)

Gopalan Jagadeesh, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
jaggie@iisc.ac.in - (Aerospace Engineering)

P. C. Kesavan, M.S. Swaminathan Research Foundation, Chennai
pckesavan@mssrf.res.in - (Agricultural Sciences and Forestry)

Ravi Korisettar, Karnatak University, Dharwad
korisettar@gmail.com - (History and Archaeology)

Giridhar Madras, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
giridhar@iisc.ac.in - (Chemical Engineering)

R. R. Navalgund, Indian Space Research Organisation, Bengaluru
navalrr@gmail.com - (Remote Sensing and Space Applications)

G. Rangarajan, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
rangaraj@iisc.ac.in - (Mathematics)

R. Srinivasan, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
srinimalu@gmail.com - (Earth System and Planetary Sciences)

M. H. Bala Subrahmanya, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
bala@iisc.ac.in - (Management Studies)


Subject Editors

Agricultural Sciences, Horticultural Sciences and Sustainability

M. Anandraj, Bengaluru
arajiisr@gmail.com - (Plant Pathology of Horticultural Crops, Mycology, Plant Growth Promoting Organisms, Host–Pathogen Interaction)

Andreas Buerkert, University of Kassel, Germany
buerkert@uni-kassel.de - (Sustainability, Soil Fertility, Nutrient Management and Matter Fluxes in Drylands)

K. N. Ganeshaiah, University of Agricultural Sciences, Bengaluru
knganeshaiah@gmail.com - (Plant Evolutionary Biology, Plant Genetics and Breeding)

P. C. Kesavan, M. S. Swaminathan Research Foundation, Chennai
pckesavan@mssrf.res.in - (Agricultural Sustainability Sciences)

R. L. Ravikumar, University of Agricultural Sciences, Bengaluru
rlravikumar@rediffmail.com – (Plant Genetics and Breeding, Molecular Markers)

Archaeology

Ravi Korisettar, Karnatak University, Dharwad
korisettar@gmail.com - (Archaeology)

Atmospheric Sciences

K. Krishnamoorthy, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
krishnamoorthyspl@gmail.com - (Atmospheric and Ionospheric Science)

Anil V. Kulkarni, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
anilkulkarni@iisc.ac.in - (Cryosphere, Glaciers and Climate Change)

A. R. Ravishankara, Colorado State University, USA
a.r.ravishankara@colostate.edu - (Atmospheric Chemistry, Climate Change, Ozone Depletion)

S. K. Satheesh, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
satheesh@iisc.ac.in - (Aerosols and Climate Change)

J. Srinivasan, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
jayes@iisc.ac.in - (Climate Modelling)

Biology

K. Chandrashekara, University of Agricultural Sciences, GKVK, Bengaluru
kchandra58@gmail.com - (Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Insect Ecology and Behaviour, Biodiversity and Bio-prospecting, Insect Pest Management)

Sorab Dalal, Advanced Centre for Treatment, Research and Education in Cancer, Navi Mumbai
sdalal@actrec.gov.in - (Molecular Biology and Biochemistry)

Vinita Gowda, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Bhopal
gowdav@iiserb.ac.in - (Plant Ecology, Evolution and Taxonomy, Systematics (Phylogenetics) and Population Genetics, Behavioural Biology, Conservation Biology)

Saman Habib, CSIR-Central Drug Research Institute, Lucknow
saman_habib@cdri.res.in - (Molecular Biology and Biochemistry)

Gaiti Hasan, National Centre for Biological Sciences, Bengaluru
gaiti@ncbs.res.in - (Molecular Biology, Genetics, Neuroscience, Cell Signalling)

N. V. Joshi, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
nvjoshi@iisc.ac.in - (Statistical Analysis, Mathematical Modelling in Biology)

Ullasa Kodandaramaiah, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Thiruvananthapuram
ullasa@iisertvm.ac.in- (Ecology and Evolution)

Vinod Kumar, University of Delhi, Delhi
vkumar@zoology.du.ac.in - (Regulatory Biology, Biological Rhythms, Neuroendocrine Control of Seasonality, Behavioural Neuroscience)

Renjith Mathew, National Institute of Science Education and Research, Bhubaneswar
renjith.mathew@niser.ac.in - (Microbiology)

Subhash Rajpurohit, Ahmedabad University, Ahmedabad
subhash.rajpurohit@ahduni.edu.in - (Ecology and Evolution)

V. V. Ramamurthy, Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi
vvr3@vsnl.com - (Taxonomy)

V. V. Robin, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Tirupati
robin@iisertirupati.ac.in - (Ecology and Evolution)

Munivenkatappa Sanjappa, University of Agricultural Sciences, Bengaluru
sanjappam@ymail.com - (Botany – Taxonomy and Conservation)

L. S. Shashidhara, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Pune
ls.shashidhara@iiserpune.ac.in - (Evolution, Genetics and Developmental Biology)

Yogesh Shouche, National Center for Cell Science, Pune
yogesh@nccs.res.in - (Microbial Diversity, Vector Biology, Genetic Diversity of Microbes)

Hema Somanathan, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Thiruvananthapuram
hsomanathan@iisertvm.ac.in - (Evolutionary Ecology)

Chemistry

E. Arunan, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
arunan@iisc.ac.in - (Inorganic and Physical Chemistry)

S. Chandrasekhar, CSIR-Indian Institute of Chemical Technology, Hyderabad
srivaric@iict.res.in - (Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Synthesis of Complex Natural Products, Medicinal Chemistry and Drug Discovery, Organocatalysis, Use of PEG as a Green Solvent and Green Chemistry, Synthesis of Unusual Beta Amino Acids and Peptidomimetics)

Srinivasan Natarajan, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
snatarajan@iisc.ac.in - (Inorganic Materials Chemistry, Solid State Chemistry/Synthesis, Structure, Li-ion Battery Materials/Ceramic Pigments, Inorganic–Organic Hybrid Materials, Magnetic Materials)

N. Sathyamurthy, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bengaluru
nsath@iisermohali.ac.in - (Theoretical Chemistry)

Richard N. Zare, Stanford University, USA
zare@stanford.edu - (Laser Chemistry, Chemical Reactions at Molecular Level)

Earth System Sciences

Sunil Bajpai, Birbal Sahni Institute of Palaeobotany, Lucknow
director@bsip.res.in - (Palaeontology)

S. Balakrishnan, Pondicherry University, Puducherry
balakrishnan.srinivasan@gmail.com - (Geochemistry and Geochronology)

Somnath Dasgupta, Westwind, Block 4, Flat 3B, 78, Raja SC Mullick Road, Kolkata
somnathdasg@gmail.com - (Metamorphic Petrology and Geochemistry)

Saibal Gupta, Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur
saibl@gg.iitkgp.ernet.in - (Petrology, Structure and Tectonics)

Biswajit Mishra, Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur
bmgg@gg.iitkgp.ac.in - (Ore Mineralogy and Ore Geochemistry)

Malay Mukul, Indian Institute of Technology-Bombay, Mumbai
malaymukul@iitb.ac.in - (Tectonics, Lithospheric Deformation Studies)

Rajeev Patnaik, Centre of Advanced Study in Geology, Panjab University, Chandigarh
rajeevpatnaik@gmail.com - (Vertebrate Palaeontology)

G. V. R. Prasad, University of Delhi, Delhi
guntupalli.vrprasad@gmail.com - (Vertebrate Palaeontology, Palaeo-biogeography)

N. V. Chalapathi Rao, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi
nvcr100@gmail.com - (Petrology)

Dilip Saha, Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata
dsaha@isical.ac.in - (Structure, Tectonics and Sedimentology)

Rajiv Sinha, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur
rsinha@iitk.ac.in - (River Science, Fluvial Geomorphology)

R. Srinivasan, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
srinimalu@gmail.com - (Solid Earth Sciences, Precambrian Geology)

Engineering

Gopalan Jagadeesh, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
jaggie@iisc.ac.in - (Experimental Hypersonics and Shockwave Dynamics)

Giridhar Madras, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
giridhar@iisc.ac.in - (Chemical Engineering)

Sukumar Mishra, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, New Delhi
sukumar@ee.iitd.ac.in - (Power System, Renewable Energy: Power System Control, Photovoltaic Energy Management, Grid Code)

G. Prathap, Vidya Academy of Science and Technology, Thrissur
gangan@vidyaacademy.ac.in - (Structural Mechanics and Information Science)

K. Ramamurthy, Indian Institute of Technology, Chennai
vivek@iitm.ac.in - (Civil Engineering, Sustainable Construction Materials, Building Science and Engineering, Concrete Technology)

Saragur M. Srinidhi, Advanced Computing and Communications Society, Bengaluru
ssrinidhi@accsindia.org - (Communication Networks: Network Performance Analysis, Call Admission Control, Operations Research, High Performance Computing)

V. V. Srinivas, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
vvs@iisc.ac.in, vvsrinivas@yahoo.com - (Surface water hydrology; Stochastic Hydrology; Extreme events (floods, droughts, rainfall))

Satyam Suwas, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
satyamsuwas@iisc.ac.in - (Metallurgy: Crystallographic Texture, Materials Characterization, Mechanical Behaviour of Materials)

Shivam Tripathi, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, Kanpur
shiva@iitk.ac.in - (Watershed hydrology, Eco-hydrology, River hydraulics)

History and Philosophy of Science

Dhruv Raina, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi
dhruv@mail.jnu.ac.in - (History and Philosophy of Science, Society and Social Movements, History and Philosophy of Mathematics and Exact Sciences, The History of Contemporary Science)

Management Studies

M. H. Bala Subrahmanya, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
bala@iisc.ac.in - (Management Studies, Industrial Economics)

Mathematics

G. Rangarajan, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
rangaraj@iisc.ac.in - (Mathematics)

Medical Sciences

Sandeep M. Eswarappa, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
sandeep@iisc.ac.in - (Physiological and Pathological Angiogenesis)

Lakshmanan Krishnamurti, Emory University, Atlanta, GA
lakshmanan.krishnamurti@emory.edu - (Haematology, Oncology)

Indraneel Mittra, Tata Memorial Cancer Centre, Navi Mumbai
indraneel.mittra@gmail.com - (Oncology)

Sanjay A. Pai, Columbia Asia Referral Hospital, Bengaluru
sanjayapai@gmail.com - (Gastrointestinal Pathology)

H. Paramesh, Lakeside Center for Health Promotion, Bengaluru
drhparamesh@gmail.com - (Air Pollution and Health)

B. S. Shankaranarayana Rao, National Institute of Mental Health and Neuro Sciences, Bengaluru
bssrao.nimhans@gmail.com - (Neurophysiology)

U. S. Vishal Rao, Health Care Global Cancer Centre, Bengaluru
drvishalrao@gmail.com - (Surgical Oncology, Robotic Surgery)

Prabha Sampath, Institute of Medical Biology, Singapore
Prabha.sampath@imb.a-star.edu.sg - (Molecular Medicine)

Subrata Sinha, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi
sub_sinha@hotmail.com, sub_sinha2004@yahoo.co.in - (Oncology)

Oceanography

A. C. Anil, National Institute of Oceanography, Goa
acanil@nio.org - (Biological Oceanography, Marine Ecology, Marine Biology)

P. N. Vinayachandran, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
vinay@iisc.ac.in - (Physical Oceanography, Ocean Modelling, Physical–Biological Interactions in Ocean)

Physics

Debajyoti Choudhury, University of Delhi, Delhi
debchou@physics.du.ac.in - (Particle Physics and Cosmology)

Justin David, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
justin@iisc.ac.in - (High Energy Physics, General Relativity, Mathematical Physics)

Swapan Kumar Ghosh, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai
swapankghosh@gmail.com - (Soft Condensed Matter Physics, Theoretical Chemistry, Computational Material Science)

J. N. Goswami, Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmedabad
goswami@prl.res.in - (Planetary and Space Sciences, Solar System: Formation and Evolution, Geo- and Cosmo-chronology, Solar–Stellar relationship)

Sulabha Kulkarni, Centre for Materials for Electronics Technology, Pune
skknano@gmail.com - (Condensed Matter Physics, Nanotechnology, Surface Science, Materials Science)

Pinaki Majumdar, Harish-Chandra Research Institute, Allahabad
pinaki@hri.res.in - (Condensed Matter Physics)

K. P. Singh, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Mohali
kulinderpal@gmail.com - (Astronomy and Astrophysics)

R. Srianand, Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics, Pune
anand@iucaa.in - (Astrophysics)

Tarun Souradeep, Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics, Pune
tarun@iucaa.in - (Cosmology, High Energy Physics, Early Universe)

Paul J. Wiita, The College of New Jersey, New Jersey
wiitap@tcnj.edu - (Astronomy)

Remote Sensing and Space Sciences

Ajai, Space Applications Center (ISRO), Ahmedabad
ajai@sac.isro.gov.in - (Earth and Planetary Sciences, Remote Sensing Applications, Earth Science: Desertification, Glaciology, Coastal Zone Environment, Natural Resources Management, Lunar and Martian Geoscience)

R. R. Navalgund, Indian Space Research Organisation, Bengaluru
navalrr@gmail.com - (Remote Sensing/Earth Observation)


S. Ramaseshan Fellow:
Priya Srinivasa

Editorial staff:
M. K. Anitha, R. Anuradha, Chandrika Ramesh, D. L. Geetha, G. Madhavan, K. P. Madhu, V. Rajitha,
Sarah Iqbal, N. Subashini, V. Venkateswari and M. S. Venugopal

Circulation and Accounts:
H. R. Ananthamurthy, Pramodkumar S. Kodagali, A. Shashidhar, Meghana B. Yadav, B.G. Yoganarasimha

©2018 Current Science Association, Bengaluru. All Rights Reserved

Removed in August 2018

Sudhir Kumar Vempati, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
vempati@iisc.ac.in - (Physics)

S. Krishnaswamy, Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai
mkukrishna@gmail.com - (Structural Biology)

Atul H. Chokshi, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
achokshi@iisc.ac.in - (Ceramics and Nanomaterials)

V. Nagaraja, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bengaluru
vraj@jncasr.ac.in - (Molecular Biology)

,